At the beginning of January, I chose Kindness as my One Little Word. Just like all resolutions I started out very committed, but now at the end of the month I find that my focus on the word has slipped. So I am renewing my wish to be kinder to people. I am hoping that I will have more success if I use the phrase (from Wonderone of Mr. Browne’s precepts quoted from Dr. Wayne Dyer) “Choose kind”.

Actually as I read the whole quote now, it does seem very appropriate for me. Here is the quote:”When given the choice between being right or being kind, choose kind.” Too many times, especially with my husband I think I am right. And I want him to know that I am right. Now, I will try harder to be kind, rather than right. Why is it that sometimes it is the people we love the most that we can hurt the worst?

As a teacher there is so many things you need to be right about – the right lesson plan, the right assessment, the right goal etc. I think too often I carry that over to my home life, and think I need to be right about everything there too.

5 thoughts on “Revisit my OLW

  1. I still don’t have my word for the year. Maybe I will try a quality like you have done. I will seek a quote to guide me. Thank you for this lesson and example. I believe being kind is harder with those we love because we see them so much. It’s less likely with others because of the time spent ratio is a factor. But as you said, there’s room to improve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

