MY OLW 2017

One Little Word

Yes, I am going to do this year. In the past I never committed myself to this idea. I never put it down on paper. So, of course I never remembered to follow through.

My One Little Word for this year is kindness.  This OLW also fits in with  my New Year’s Resolution – to be kinder. To me, being kinder can encompass so much. If I can be kinder, I will be more aware of others and their needs. I want to look people in the eye and pay attention when they are speaking. This means listening without thinking of what I want to say. Then I need to be able to think before I speak. This means there will be less jumping to conclusions by me – a really bad habit. Or even worse, I often think that I know everything. By using kindness, I should be more considerate of others and their feelings.Also I will be kinder to myself. There is no need for harsh words against myself. I should be my own best friend, not worst enemy.

Interesting day as I introduced this concept to the students also. There was no hesitation on their part and they eagerly began to think and write about their little word.  Now working with them I hope we all can do more work with our own little words.

5 thoughts on “MY OLW 2017

Leave a Reply

