Lucky Number 13

Today is my Birthday! I always called 13 my lucky number. As soon as I was old enough to hear about suuperstitions, I checked to be sure that I was not born on a Friday, the thirteenth! No I was born on a Saturday. My mother couldn’t remember for certain after having eight kids! According to folklore I will work my whole life. That does not sound so bad to me. If I ‘m working, I must be healthy enough to work in mind and body.

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go,
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child must work for a living,
But the child that’s born on the Sabbath day,
Is fair and wise and good and gay.

Author: Unknown

6 thoughts on “Lucky Number 13

  1. Happy Birthday! I hope you have a wonderful day celebrating! Go #13!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband & I got married on the 13th, so I, too, have a fondness for this “unlucky” number. Glad I’m not alone – and happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday- I like your take on working. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy birthday. My oldest daughter was also born on the 13th. A lucky day indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember reciting that poem. It was as good as all the nursery rhymes we used to memorize years ago. My nephew was born on Friday the 13 and my sister was sick about it. However, he’s a healthy man with a son of his own and all is well. Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close