Cooking it up!

slice-of-life_individual

My husband and I share the cooking and we both like watching cooking shows, so it seems natural that our granddaughters show the same interest at ages 8 & 9. They like to help chop and stir always. Last visit we decided to do a cooking challenge.

We each got the same ingredients for Grandpa Don’s corn chowder, and I was to help both girls complete the recipe. Everybody did their own chopping and measuring and stirring. Finally three bowls were set before Grandpa Don, with numbers 1,2, & 3 taped on them. The judge took his time, taking several spoonfuls from the bowls and savored each one thoughtfully. His decision would be final. Needless to say, I came in third, last place! But I was so proud of those two girls, and they were so proud of themselves! Isn’t that what life is all about? Being a grandmother is a blessing!

BD6B4B12-0BEE-477D-9A5F-61AC7EC97999

5 thoughts on “Cooking it up!

  1. Mmmmm! Corn chowder! Soup is delicious any time of year! So great that your granddaughters also share your cooking interest! I remember all the dishes my grandmother made for the family. Maybe there is a slice of life story there!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How delightful and yes, so good your granddaughters love cooking. I have only grandsons and they are not interested at all!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful moment here. Your slice captures of moment of pride for both you and your girls. Loved how you slowed down the moment of the judging of the chowder. Thanks for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Too fun, this family cook-off! I am sure your corn chowder is fantastic- so I say NO WONDER you’d be so proud! Lots of warmth in this slice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a fun way to encourage your granddaughters to develop and interest and also what a great way to spend time with them. I can sense your joy and pride and good sense of humor through your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close