When I arrived home yesterday afternoon, there was the cat lounging peacefully in the sun. I was jealous. Not only did she have the luxury of the time to spend doing nothing, but she knows the correct way to do nothing. Cats live in the moment. There is no worrying about the future (Will the payment reach the bank on time?) or worrying about the past (Did I say the right thing?).  She was just laying quietly absorbing the heat of this late September day.

No matter what this cat is doing, she is committed to it. I have seen her hunting before when she can stalk her prey for over an hour. She waits quietly and patiently for that little mouse to scurry by on a path where she knows mice travel. My commitment to projects often falters and fails. So as I start up this school year, I begin another vow to write more and write more with my students. We have begun our writing, hoping to build stamina for the March SOL Classroom Challenge.

 

2 thoughts on “Cat-Envy

  1. There are lessons to be learned, from cats and from past years, that will help you “write more and write more with my students”. Some days it is hard work, but the payoff, like stalking that mouse for hours, is great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

