A Flip Flop or a Beach Ball?

An interesting question was raised in class today – Are you more like a flip flop or a beach ball? What does that mean anyways?  It was an exercise to raise one’s own awareness of oneself. We have been discussing multiple intelligence and our strengths and weaknesses. So I am completing this activity along with the students using my intrapersonal skills to answer the question.

My musings on this dilemma started with what does each item represent? They both represent summer and fun to me. However, a flip flop is more utilitarian. It has a job – to keep the feet cool, comfortable and moving. That certainly is more like me – working, keeping the class moving and yet trying to stay comfortable and cool. A beach ball can be used  to bring people together for a purpose – a game of toss or keep away. And a teacher certainly has a purpose always.  I like to keep things moving like a ball, and I like to make lessons fun. It seems like I am similar to both of these objects and their uses. And just as fall arrives, I am sad to have to put these summer things away. It soon will be too cold for flip flops and beach balls. I will have to come up with our items to spur my class on to more writings – snow shoes and snow balls??

flip-flop-clipart-black-and-white-xcgxgqdca                                     beach-ball-clip-art-black-and-white-clipart

3 thoughts on “A Flip Flop or a Beach Ball?

Leave a Reply

