Day 20

Intimidation.
That’s what I was feeling when reading some of these inspiring quotes every day. Today’s quote though, is one I can understand and relate to. Not that I am doing that many first drafts…but a lot of rejecting going on I in my head. Do I have the guts to be a writer, let alone the skill? I know, I know- baby steps first. I am inspired by you fellow bloggers – such skill, vocabulary and syntax. Practice makes perfect….

It reminds of a comment from my eighth grade teacher nun. At that age I was writing up a storm: diaries, poems, notes and letters. It was after I had written a great essay about the history of shoes from a shoes point of view. Remember this was the 60s, not much for writing instruction – just write. Well the next week half the class had written papers from different point of views. Instead of being pleased, I felt like they had stole my thunder. This is when Sister Xavier told me “not to hide my light under a basket!” My first example of model writing.

4 thoughts on “Day 20

    • Nowadays she would have called your paper a mentor text. A few days ago, my students were peer editing and someone asked me if it was OK to use something someone else had done. I almost wept tears of joy. I rang the bell for a mid-class interruption and talked about what this student had just asked me. I told them to yes , please use each others work as mentor texts, that is half the reason we do peer editing.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. IMITATION is the greatest compliments paid to a writer. That’s what mentor text is all about, really. It is the way many “greats” say they learned. Benjamin Franklin wrote that he would try “to best” an author he liked. Robert Louis Stevenson wrote he would “ape” authors he admired and that he considered doing such as some of his hardest work but best training. He said doing the imitation set a standard for achievement. Likewise, Keats. And others. Published authors all attest to the importance of just writing…. and in the writing your skills develop. Kinda like riding a bike when you were a kid. You rode it a lot and finally got so good you could ride it with no hands. Keep writing. AND KEEP READING!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

